I know this may not seem like much to the naked eye, but if you look closely you’ll see a vinaigrette on this salade.

The first one I ever made. I know.

The part about this story that counts for adventure is that in order to make it, I needed to get some huile d’olive as well as some good moutarde. So I put on my best attitude and walked into a wonderful shop on the rue du Faubourg St. Denis, and spent about 12 minutes with the vendeur. We discussed the different types, what my needs were, what my price point was. I ended up coming away with a lovely bottle of oil that can be used for viniagrettes, as well as for cooking (on slow heat, bien sûr). So a bottle of olive oil, and a stronger sense of self. 🙂 can you really put a price on that?

Sure, I guess. The bottle of oil plus the eclair I bought on the way home to celebrate. 😉

20120910-090811.jpg

