With a little nudge, and some savoir-faire, Rebecca and I headed to see the house and gardens of Claude Monet in Giverny. We started at Gare St. Lazare, which hasn’t really changed since Monet painted the station.

20120917-020748.jpg
We arrived in Vernon, which was a pretty town, but we weren’t really there to see it…we jumped on a little bus headed to Giverny, and saw a little tour of the town before we headed across the Seine.

When we arrived in Giverny, I think the world was quiet for a few hours.

20120917-021159.jpg
The house was as I had imagined, but the colors were even more vibrant. In the house, the two rooms that struck me the most were the tiny sewing room (that had a view, of course), and his studio. Perhaps it was the wooden staircase that stepped down into a lower level that made all the paintings hanging on, but off the wall at an angle very real. The furniture, angled as it was; one was probably able to rest and gaze at the paintings above.

The gardens were lovely. All planted by Monet himself who remained the main architect, I read, even though he had hired several gardeners on retainer. I cannot keep basil alive, so this was clearly a monumental feat. It was very free flowing. To those that garden I think it probably looks like a dream.

20120917-021419.jpg

20120917-021459.jpg
Part of the property was Monet’s les nymphéas pond. Being there, in that moment, was an experience I will remember forever. I wanted to include video here, but I cannot. Email or text if you would like the small but sweet video. 🙂 in the meantime, I give you another photo. 🙂

20120917-022146.jpg
Recommended side trip from Paris to all who love being inspired. 🙂

